Mama Carrie Makes

Quotes to Share

Dying by Alex Grey; 1998

Posted inside a co-worker’s cubicle (we work for hospice):

Death is only a change of condition: time and space are in you; you are not in time and space. – Swami Vivekandanda

I am letting go of my idea of time. I see that eternal life is not a question of “I will be forever,” but of “Now I am.” Eternity is time dying in me. – Jean Lanier

Death is the sound of distant thunder at a picnic. – W.H. Auden

Friends and family have asked me if it’s depressing to work in end-of-life healthcare. Morbid, to sit with death everyday.  In truth it’s been the most life-affirming, priority-crystallizing job and experience I’ve ever had.

Image source

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

Comments are closed.