Mama Carrie Makes

My Planned Parenthood

Planned Parenthood is many things to many people.

We are a trusted health care provider, an informed educator, a passionate advocate, and a global partner helping similar organizations around the world. Planned Parenthood delivers vital reproductive health care, sex education, and information to millions of women, men, and young people worldwide.

For more than 90 years, Planned Parenthood has promoted a commonsense approach to women’s health and well-being, based on respect for each individual’s right to make informed, independent decisions about health, sex, and family planning.

In highschool, Planned Parenthood gave us condoms. Just left them in a basket on the counter, and made no comments when we each took handfuls.

In college, Planned Parenthood was there when I chose abortion.  Through their website, I discovered I am actually 1 of 3 women in the US who will have an abortion before 45.

Medicaid paid for my birth control post-abortion.  Injected at, you guessed it, Planned Parenthood.

After college, and marriage, we went to Planned Parenthood to confirm my pregnancy. We laughed and cried joyously.

Planned Parenthood has been there for me for almost 20 years.  PapaMakes and I found help and support there, regardless of what service we were using.  When I felt there was no way I could give birth and be a parent, and when I finally felt ready and able.

Their website is a treasure trove of information about abortion, birth control, body image, emergency contraception, men’s sexual health, pregnancy, relationships, sex & sexuality, sexual orientation & gender, sexually transmitted diseases and women’s health.  There is information for teens, for parents and for educators.

I want, no demand, these services be available for my child when she’s ready to become sexually active. And not just for my child, for all children, for all adults. In Indiana alone, 50% of the breast exams and Pap tests provided were for people below the poverty line. Abortion services are actually the least of what Planned Parenthood provides for communities in desperate need of their services. Affordable healthcare and family planning are a right, not a privilege of the already priveleged.

What Tami Said – My Planned Parenthood Blog Carnival

ColorLines – Indiana Can’t Defund Planned Parenthood

Feminists for Choice – Lizz Winstead is Standing Up For Choice

Shakesville – The Road to Hell

Alas, A Blog – Do They Really Believe Abortion is Murder?

Pandagon – Is Roe Safe? Absolutely Not

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

Comments are closed.