Mama Carrie Makes

Top 5 Regrets of the Dying

2 Comments

From an article by Bronnie Ware,  which is now a book.  Please check out the link for more information about the writer.  I believe that the patient’s she had experience with were dying of old age, so they were raised in a very different time and culture.  That said, I still believe that everyone can benefit from their message.

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

An important question to ask yourself periodically…If I knew that I only had a year left to live, what would I do with that time?  If you have never considered this, I encourage you to start now.  What would you do differently if you knew that your time was (severely) limited?  Who would you call?  Would you travel?  Write that memoir?  Treat your family differently? 

If you knew that your spouse, partner, child, parent, best friend, would be gone in 6 months?  What would you say to them?

Do these things now, because life often takes unexpected turns.

(Image Source)

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Regrets of the Dying

  1. This caught my eye as I was browsing your blog (thanks for delurking and commenting today, I really appreciate it). My dad has terminal cancer and I’ve been spending time with him and my mom. If he’d been killed in a car accident instead of being diagnosed with cancer, I wouldn’t have had all of this intimate, quality time. I’m not glad he has cancer but I’m so grateful for the time we’ve been sharing. Last week I wrote him a letter because I wanted to share some memories and tell him things I believe I’ve gotten from him and from both of them. I couldn’t say it without crying but I could write it. I’m glad I did. I don’t know how long he’ll be around but I feel better for having shared these thoughts and memories.

    • Thank you for visiting.
      Such a double edge sword, is the terminal illness. I have worked in the hospice field for almost 10 years, and some of the most transformative, enlightening time in our lives is the time when we know we are going to die and we turn towards the challenge of resolving our lives.
      The other benefit of a letter, is that he can read and re-read it as many times as he wishes.
      I wish you and your family love and support and peace at this time.