Mama Carrie Makes

LinkFarm – Read, Write, Comment

3 Comments

…while the internet is a big place, you are an important part of it. Sometimes, it might seem as if your contribution to the free flow of information and ideas is nothing but a drop in an ocean, but the ocean would be that much drier and shallower without your thought. As they say, “Rome wasn’t built in a day” (a truism of which I am in constant need of reminding). It was, rather, each individual stone in a Roman road which comprised the network that allowed the empire to stretch across Europe. And it was each individual citizen who came to debate in the forum which allowed for the republic to flourish into the classical civilisation to which we still look today.

No Comments from the Peanut Gallery @ The Aberrant Pen

I don’t remember how I stumbled upon it, but I’ve got 7 days in a row!  Inspired by The Artist’s Way’s ‘Morning Pages’, this site give you a blank web page, a word counter, and analyzes what you’ve written once you’ve hit your daily goal (750 words).  Here’s a quote from my entry today:

You could just see the city lights through the foothills, and the stars were much more visible this far from town.  Very few cars, if any, passed by when we were lurking.  I could pull the car well off the road and park, and then we could hop the gate and continue walking down the fire road.  Pretty quickly we were in the trees, which completely blocked out the moonlight.  I remember visiting home from college a few days after seeing the Blair Witch Project, back before we all knew for sure that it was a hoax.  My friends and I went up to the fire road to search for the time capsule we had buried two years earlier.  I was terrified, to the delight and amusement of a few of my friends. We did not find the time capsule.

**

I’ve read through the Hunger Games Trilogy, and have started again at the beginning.  The trailer for the upcoming film does not impress me, I’m sad to say.  Of course I’ll still see the movie.  Almost an obligation, really.  I’m looking for a blog or Tumblr about the books, my initial search did not turn up any interesting content.

Any Hunger Games fans out there with a recommendation?

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

3 thoughts on “LinkFarm – Read, Write, Comment

  1. Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

  2. An amazing article, thanks for the writing.

  3. Many thanks for the fabulous post, this one has been book marked.