Mama Carrie Makes

Friday Craft, Children of the Craft

1 Comment

As a crafty mama, I am always on the lookout for fun crafts for KidMakes. She really likes being in the ‘craft cave’ with me and takes to any new crafty experiment with enthusiasm.

I like to have a mixture of crafts we can do together, and crafts she can do while I’m doing a more complicated job. I know one day we’ll be working with wire or making earrings together, but that day will not happen in the next couple of years. I also prefer to reward KidMakes with crafty kits whenever possible. Most recently the Tooth Fairy brought the kit above, with 4 tiny figures to paint and put stickers onto. (By the way, TF, it was a huge hit.)

Whenever we have another kiddo over for a playdate I always have a crafty activity ready. It’s fun to have options. ‘Would you like to play outside on our most awesome climbing tree, or cut up a book and make a collage? Or one activity now and another later?’

The first craft KidMakes really took to (after the scribbling in all her board books phase) was Hama, or Perler, beads. It’s basically pixel art that you melt together with an iron. I bought a giant pack of colors for about $20, and her preschool teacher gifted her with 3 templates when she graduated. This activity bulids fine motor skills, and Kid’s preschool had Hama bead time every day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Painting and collage are fantastic activities for kiddos. I really enjoy cutting up books that have been gifted to us with less than fantastic content (ahem, Princess Barbie and Learning Manners with the Disney Princesses). The kids I’ve met all enjoy cutting up paper and pasting or taping it down to a piece of paper. If they get to rip up a book, even better! And painting is just as fun. We use simple prompts to get us started (tree, house, bird, shapes). I also like to use foam daubers to create circles in multiple sizes for easy flowers or bee bodies or suns, I could go on.

The last kid craft I’ll mention is good old doodling and coloring. When in doubt, a coloring book and crayon set will set you back around $5, and we’ve got entertainment. When we color together, I like to get wild with color and encourage KidMakes to let herself color outside the lines, doodle over the lines, change a picture if she wants it to look differently. It’s just a coloring book, so altering it to suit her doesn’t feel like a big deal. KidMakes also likes to cut out her pictures and use them in collages or give them to family. Bonus!

What are your go-to Kid Crafts?

MCM

Part I   |   Part II   |   Part III   |   Part IV   |   Part V   |   Part VI   |   Part VII   |   Part VIII   |   Part IX   |   Part X   |   Part XI

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

One thought on “Friday Craft, Children of the Craft

  1. Hey! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!