Mama Carrie Makes

International Day of Peace

On this day last year, Troy Davis was executed in Georgia under a cloud of reasonable doubt.

I cannot answer all of your letters but I do read them all, I cannot see you all but I can imagine your faces, I cannot hear you speak but your letters take me to the far reaches of the world, I cannot touch you physically but I feel your warmth everyday I exist.

So Thank you and remember I am in a place where execution can only destroy your physical form but because of my faith in God, my family and all of you I have been spiritually free for some time and no matter what happens in the days, weeks to come, this Movement to end the death penalty, to seek true justice, to expose a system that fails to protect the innocent must be accelerated.

Today is the International Day of Peace.

Two unrelated (?) things that I wanted to remember.

I don’t have the words.

Peace to you and yours and especially to those people with no one and those people living with war in their hometowns.

MCM

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

Comments are closed.