Mama Carrie Makes

Friday Craft, Gift Idea Tutorial #2

1 Comment

Another simple gift idea. Bejeweled trees…

Ingredients:

12-15 -6″ pieces of craft wire (gauge depends on how big you want your tree)  |   12-15 beads   |   base   |   chain nose pliers

Start by cleaning your wires if needed. I like 24-28 gauge wire for this project.

Thread 1-2 beads on each wire then bend in half, trapping the bead(s) in the middle. These are your branches. (Sometimes I twist the wires, sometimes I don’t.  Just sayin.)

Gather your branches together in a bunch. I like to include 2 or 3 3″ wires to the mix, then I curl the ends for a vine-y look.

Take your bunch of branches and twist the bottom of the bunch. Using pliers helps to get a tight twist. This creates the trunk of your tree.

Now spread apart the beaded ends of your branches, creating the canopy of your tree. I try to get an even spread, moving wires over to empty spots. This is where I curl the ends of my vines, and they’re great space fillers as well.

For a base I use wood bobbins from the craft store. Use a piece of painter’s tape on the bottom, then put 2 drops of glue in the center. Follow with the trunk of your tree. Allow to dry overnight. Then you can remove the tape.

Viola!

For this Halloween tree, I used purple wire and painted the base black. I also used a little black paint on the tree to dull the bright purple coating. My glue spilled over a bit, so I added some beads for ‘roots’.

Simple. Customizable. Quick. Once you start making them, it’s hard to stop.

MCM

~More Craft here~

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

One thought on “Friday Craft, Gift Idea Tutorial #2

  1. Wow, awesome blog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful, as neatly as the content!