Mama Carrie Makes

Monday Morning

Chanel_Haircut

(found on Pinterest)

One of my favorite beauty rituals, and one of the few I have, is to grow my hair out for several months or a year and then chop it off. I was a long-hair for my entire youth, it was my wavy brown safety blanket. When KidMakes was around 3 years old, I decided it was time to try short hair. There is no feeling quite like the loss of 12+ inches of hair. Your whole sense of balance is off, your head feels different, your hair moves differently. I couldn’t stop looking at it in the mirror.

I understood why cutting your hair was addictive. That one simple action reverberated throughout my whole life and my perception of myself.

MCM

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

Comments are closed.