Mama Carrie Makes

Saturday Spotlight, ilfant press

Our first crafty spotlight features Lisa Hasegawa’s ilfant press. I was drawn to her display at Crafty Wonderland because of her fun stationary sets and one-of-a-kind journals. She also does custom orders for business cards, weddings, etc.

ilfant

From the artist’s ‘About’ page:

Artist Statement

I am a printmaker at heart and have always been intrigued by any method of reproduction: photocopies, dittos, mimeographs, rubber stamps, carbon paper, etc. This fascination likely stems from childhood visits to my mother’s office and the hippie camp where my father lived, where I was enthralled by the production of a mimeographed newsletter. …my three-dimensional work is largely comprised of limited edition and one-of-a-kind artist’s books and soft sculpture.

… Inspiration comes from various facets of my life: my collection of teddy bears and antique toys, vintage ephemera and office supplies, as well as stories and events from life. By combining humor, wit and a simplistic style, I connect with the viewer in dealing with subjects we all think about, but don’t generally discuss. I offer a little happiness and laughter; the most rewarding compliment is seeing someone smile or laugh as they experience my work.

Biography

Lisa Hasegawa graduated from the University of Washington with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Printmaking and received her Master of Fine Arts in Book Arts/Printmaking from The University of the Arts in Philadelphia. Lisa teaches letterpress and bookmaking classes in Seattle, and is sole proprietor of ilfant press. Her work has been exhibited nationally and has received several awards; including a Grant for Artist Projects (GAP) from Artist Trust and Printmaking Instructor of the Year from Pratt. Her artist’s books and prints are collected nationally in both public and private collections.

Click on the image above to hop over to ilfant’s Etsy site and grab some delicious stationary today!

MCM

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

Comments are closed.