Mama Carrie Makes

Friday Craft, Ring Bracelet tutorial

2 Comments

I refuse to call these by their common name, so I’m going to call this a Ring-bracelet. I made it by request, and after taking these pictures I revised the design a couple of times to make the ring-bracelet work for my friend’s hand.

RingBraceletCollage

I used 20g craft wire and gold fill chain from my local craft store for this. You’ll also need a big focal bead that will lay flat on the wearer’s hand; I used all my pliers, but you could get away with just round nose and nippers.

Working from the wire spool, put your bead on the wire and then create the beginning of a wrapped loop, before closing your wrapped loop string on your short piece of chain. (2) The size of this piece of chain will depend on the wearer’s finger size. My wearer was not a tiny person, so I used 3 inches. Once both ends of the chain are attached, close the loop (3).

Cut the wire from the spool, 1.5 inches below your focal bead. Repeat the prior steps, with the long piece of chain (5). I decided to make the bracelet section big enough to bit around my wearer’s hand so I used 8.5 inches of chain.

I wanted a little more WOW, so I too 10 inches of wire and created a spiral (6). Mark the mid-point of your wire, then clasp this point between your round-nose pliers. Bend the ends around your pliers creating a spiral. Leave at least 2 inch tails to wrap around the wrapped loops, attaching your spiral to your focal bead.

After wearing this for a bit, my friend discovered she could not comfortably flex her hand without worrying about breaking the chain. So I brought the piece back to my studio and added a wrapped link at the top and bottom. This gave her the wiggle room she needed.

Pretty easy gift idea. What do you think?

MCM

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

2 thoughts on “Friday Craft, Ring Bracelet tutorial

  1. What fun! You make it look sooooo easy! hugs