Mama Carrie Makes

Friday Craft, Handmade Book Episode Two

2 Comments

Album06_LifeIsBeautiful_collage

This book is not from a printable kit. I found this beautiful paper pack on sale at my locally-owned craft store, and sat on it for a couple months before getting inspired to make a book out of it. It’s from My Mind’s Eye and designed by Teresa Collins, and it came with 6 12×12 double sided papers, 3 sheets of cards and tags to cut out, and 2 pages of stickers. So much fun. I used almost everything.

I’m not sure what this binding method is called, but it’s so simple and you can switch out the signatures if you like (video tutorial found from Ephemera’s Vintage Garden, natch). I made the cover and then wrapped the twine around the spine 6 times for 6 signatures. Tying it off is the hardest part, because it needs to be pretty taut to hold the signatures in place. Then I used my macrame background to make a series of decorative knots to secure it (check out the 2nd picture from the left on the bottom).

The signatures are a mixture of the papers from the kit and cardstock in black, white, and kraft. I also used some 6×9 envelopes. I folded some of the kit’s papers to make tuck spots and pockets. And I again used as many scraps as possible to embellish. To put the signatures into the book you just slip them under the twine. Easy as pie.

Stay tuned for more handmade books!

MCM

Episode 1

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

2 thoughts on “Friday Craft, Handmade Book Episode Two

  1. Love what your doing! Can’t wait to see more.