Mama Carrie Makes

Friday Craft, Art Journal 07

IMG_4505

Made with mini Distress Inks, a Hero Arts stamp and some hand-me-down watercolor paper that is way too nice for me to afford. This piece measures 7.5″ x 5.25″, so a bit too big for a standard card. I’m thinking I’ll mount it onto chipboard and hang it in the craft cave.

This technique is nothing new, but I really enjoyed it. I’ve got about 20 tiny Distress Ink pads, at least 1 or 2 shades of each color. You’ll also need an acrylic block, or some kind of non-porous surface for a palette. Just tap the ink pad onto the palette to leave some ink behind, then use a wet brush to pick up the color and start painting.

I like this method of painting more than watercolor, because it’s so much easier to control the amount of color on your brush. I had tried to color this image using some Tombow dual brush markers, but the color was too concentrated and did not move on the page the way I wanted it to.

MCM

Episode 1   |   Episode 2   |   Episode 3   |   Episode 4   |   Episode 5   |   Episode 6

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

Comments are closed.