Mama Carrie Makes

Friday Craft, Art Journal 11

I really love house-themed stamps. This adorable set is from Paper Smooches, called Bitty Bungalows.

I started with a blank page in my art journal, and used some patterned paper to create the sky and hills for my neighborhood. Then I covered them with gel medium to seal it down.
ArtJournal_PaperLandscape

Next I used my Gelatos to give my little world some color and depth. These are from a set of 12 I bought on Amazon, in the kids department where they are significantly less expensive than the packs available in the arts and crafts section. They can also probably be found in your local art store in the kids section.

ArtJournal_PaperLandscapeShading

I stamped my images with Distress ink on some pretty basic card stock, then colored them in with my watercolor pencils. I used a tiny bit of water and a brush to just smooth out the color, so they still look like they’re colored with pencils, but the color is a bit more even and I can add some shading. I’m going to try these to blend colors, at some point…

ArtJournal_BittyBungalowsColored

Cutting out each image was terribly time consuming. Paper smooches offers a coordinating set of dies for this set, but I haven’t earned them yet. I’m trying very hard to make sure I’ve used something several times before buying all the accessories and bells/whistles. I did give these the little white border to make them look a bit more cartoon-y. And so I didn’t have to cut around all the little nooks and crannies.

ArtJournal_BittyBungalowsCutOut

I played with placement a bit, and then glued them down with more gel medium.

ArtJournal_BittyBungalowsLandscape

This one is still a work in progress. Roads, more shading, more trees/shrubbery, perhaps some clouds or a sun? And of course a quote or sentiment.

MCM

Ep 1   |   Ep 2   |   Ep 3   |   Ep 4   |   Ep 5   |   Ep 6   |   Ep 7   |   Ep 8   |   Ep 9   |   Episode 10

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

Comments are closed.