Mama Carrie Makes

Friday Craft, Galaxy Box Pop-up Card

A few months ago I purchased the Lawn Fawn Pop-up Box Card die set and I’ve been having fun with it ever since.

This experiment is inspired by many upon many YouTube videos and Pinterest posts, using the Lawn Fawn Out of This World stamp set.

I started by creating a galaxy background using Tim Holtz Distress inks.

Step one: You can use any combination of colors for this ‘under-inking’ but bright colors are great to use as they will really shine through once you’ve covered them up with the space colors of the background. For this I used Worn Lipstick, Mustard Seed, Mermaid Lagoon, and Dusty Concord. Create big patches of the colors, using a heavy hand to get a really bright patch.

Step two: Using your dark blue, cover up what you just created. This part is painful, but the result is worth it.

Step three: Now use Black Soot to cover up even more of your lovely colors. This is where the galaxy really starts to take shape.

Step four: Now use gesso or white acrylic paint, thinned with water, to make star splashes.

I had stamped and colored my images using my alcohol markers before making my backgrounds, so assembling the card itself didn’t take very long. I used black cardstock to cut out the pop-up box card shapes, then adhered the galaxy background pieces to the inside flaps that would show.

I used acrylic strips (cut from used packaging that I saved for this purpose) to make the pieces float in space.

Viola!

I find my biggest issue with the pop-up box cards is using too many images. I think this card would have been even better with some editing.

What do you think?

McM

Author: mamacarriemakes

Wife, mother, friend, crafter/artist, rad fattie, nerd, administrative superstar, adoptee, caregiver, humanist, tattooed nose-ring bearer.

Comments are closed.